Mashed Carrots and Rutebega

Mashed purple carrot and rutebega

This easy dish is a very old traditional British dish that my family has been making for years(usually around Thanksgiving), but it makes a really delicious side dish throughout Fall and winter.

Ingredients:

  • Carrots: You can use any type, but I used purple carrots because that is what I recieved in my food share. Fun facts: All carrots used to be purple until Dutch growers cultivated a mutant strain of purple carrot that turned into the orange carrots you are used to seeing at the market. They have a number of additional health benefits because the purple color comes from the presence of  antioxidants in the carrot.
  • Rutebega: You can also substitute turnip or potato into this recipe if that is what you ahve around. That will change the flavor/consistency of the mash but it will still be delicious
  • Butter
  • Salt/pepper

You might have noticed I did not put the amounts of each ingredient, but before you freak out let me explain. This mash is customizable and you can change it based on your tastes. If you don’t care and you want exact directions or are already an experienced cook then I have included pictures of the exact mash I made below(3 large carrots and 2 rutebegas). Otherwise, stick with me here.

If you hate carrots and/or rutebegas I am am surprised you chose this recipe but it is a good selection because this mash doesn;t really taste like either. I personally love both, so I use equal amounts of carrot and rutebega(I usually cut it up and make sure the pot is filled with half carrot and half rutebega), but I like a little bit sweeter mash so if I will include a little but more carrot if I have it. If you don’t like carrots so much, put more rutebega in and vice versa. If you like niether vegetable(and don’t care about calories) you can add more butter at the end(I usually put about one tablespoon for the whole pot, but I know others who put a at of butter on top of each bowl they eat). Okay, now that you have some idea about how to customize this this is how I made my mash:

Here are the carrots and rutebegas I used:


Directions:

  1. First peel your carrots and rutebegas
  2. Then cut each vegetable into small cubes roughly the same size
  3. Put all the cubes into a large pot and cover with water
  4. Bring the pot to a boil and then turn down the heat, cover and let the vegetables simmer for about 15-20 mins. You may need more time depending upon the freshness of your vegetables(If they are a little older they will be tougher and take longer to cook) test a cube of each vegetable with a fork to see if it is tender(if the fork pierces the vegetables easily then it is done)DSC01877
  5. Drain the water out of the pan and then mash the vegetables with a hand masher, blender, immersion vegetable, fork or any other tool you ahev available that will get the job done.
  6. Add the amount of butter you like(I use only 1 tbsp, but my mom puts in 4 tbsps when she makes it), stir it in and add a little bit of salt and pepper and voila a simple but delicious mash!

One serving is equal to a cup.

Leave a Reply

