Day 2: And the cravings begin

So I may have spoken a little too soon when I said it was easier the second time around. It’s true that the first day was easier, but yesterday was the second day and I was fine until dinnertime. I had to stay in the lab longer than I expected and didn’t pack enough food to last me, so by the time I got home I was Hungry with a capital H. Luckily, I had leftover taco stuffed zucchini boats that I could stick in the microwave so they were ready in about 30 seconds.

I don’t really like using the microwave, but my blood sugar was too low to preheat the oven, transfer the boats to an oven safe dish and heat them up or even to put them in a frying pan to reheat them. So the zucchini boats helped a little bit but then I still felt hungry and that is when the sweet cravings started. I ran around my kitchen trying to find a 21 dsd approved treat but didn’t have the ingredients to make any of the recipes in the book. Plus my boyfriend decided to order buffalo chicken pizza, which was super hard to resist. I ended up making tea when the pizza arrived so I wouldn’t cave and narrowly avoided a trip up on my second day of the detox.

I spent awhile searching for 21 dsd treat recipes online, but I was always missing at least one essential ingredient that I didn’t have a substitution for. I would have gone to Whole Foods, which is really close to my apartment, but the weather was super nasty here. It was snowing and cold and yucky. I know I sound like a baby, but I should explain that I walk to and from work everyday and it is a half an hour walk each way. So I had already spent an hour in that nastiness and was not about to go back out there, especially since it was dark and the temperature had dropped even lower than it already was.

Anyways, I finally decided to make paleo banana bread muffins, which are gluten-free, sugar-free, and 21dsd approved. You can also make them in a loaf pan, but I prefer the muffin form because it helps me with portion control as each muffin is one serving. If you want the recipe, it can be found here.

Good luck to all those on the detox. In the words fo Katniss Everdeen, “May the odds be ever in your favor.”

Leave a Reply

