Day 6 and 7: Food Prep

Yesterday, I woke up around 6:30am, which may seem crazy on a Saturday, but this is pretty standard for me. I wake up at 5:30am on the weekdays to exercise because if I don’t exercise in the morning I won’t exercise at all. So believe it or not, 6:30am is sleeping in for me. Anyways, I didn’t have a lot of food in my apartment which was a blessing and a curse. It meant I couldn’t eat anything bad, but I was hungry and couldn’t really find anything to eat and unfortunately Whole Foods doesn’t open until 8 am.

I ended up making plain eggs with no veggies or anything fun in it, so I turned my attention to planning my meals for the week. I decided on chicken vegetable soup(recipe here), sausage and peppers(recipe here), and mini egg quiches for breakfasts/snacks(recipe here). I made the sausage a peppers last night for dinner and it was a big hit with my boyfriend. He didn’t even realize it was turkey sausage instead of pork! A friend of mine came over for lunch, and the sausage and peppers were also a big hit with her. It was such a great success that I actually ate the last of it for dinner tonight:( This would usually mean I would have to cook something later on in the week, but I still have some frozen beef and radish stew(recipe here) from last week so I can unfreeze that and probably be able to hold out until next Saturday to buy and cook food again.

I don’t know about you, but when I get home from lab/work I am way too lazy/hungry to prepare and cook a meal unless it is quick and simple(like throwing a salad together with premade ingredients). I find this laziness gets worse in the winter when the sun is almost, if not completely, set by the time I get home. Oftentimes this laziness stems from the knowledge that I will actually have to clean up the dishes I use after I cook( I actually don’t mind the cooking process itself). More often than not I find that when I cook on weekdays, I leave the dishes in the sink convincing myself I will get to them in the morning only to continue to procrastinate until all my dishes are gone or I can’t stand it anymore. So weekends are my time to prep everything and clean simultaneously so I can start the week fresh and prepared.

Now my kitchen is clean, my food for the week is made and I am ready for week 2 of the 21 day sugar detox. I am a third of the way through the detox and am already starting to see good changes. My jeans are looser, I have lost about 4lbs(but I think a lot of this is water weight if we are being h0nest),  I have a lot of energy, and things that aren’t really that sweet are beginning to taste super sweet like tea, my sugar free milkshake(recipe here), and sugar-free banana bread(recipe here). I take these as signs that the detox is working, and I am feeling healthier already.

Leave a Reply

