Day 12: It’s Friday!

So the Flyers forgot how to play hockey last night and lost 4-0 to the Canucks, but I still had fun at the game. I had a ton of energy in the morning but then had a bunch of meetings and by 3pm I was done for the day. I had a good HIIT (high intensity interval training) workout this morning and now my entire body is sore. Luckily tomorrows is a yoga day so it will be very low impact and give my muscles some time to stretch out and recover.

I haven’t really had many sugar cravings this week and have had a lot of energy during the day. The only thing I’ve noticed is that I get super exhausted at night, which could be due to the fact that I usually don’t eat that much for dinner. I like to eat most of my calories before 4pm because I am usually very hungry in the mornings/afternoons but not so much at night. I find that night time is usually when I consume the most “empty” calories from snacking. I think part of the reason is because I have this weird idea in my head of eating three square meals a day and feel like I should be eating dinner. However, I am not really that hungry so I eat foods that aren’t that filling but taste good, which are usually processed foods full of sugar and chemicals.

The 21dsd has helped me refocus my attention from when I should be eating to what I should be eating. Basically, I prepare all my food in advance or get things that are quick to cook(like collards and eggs) so I can whip a meal together at a moment’s notice. Then I don’t have to worry about eating at a specific time and just have to make sure I have enough food with me so I am prepared if I get hungry. This is habit that I want to carry into my life after the 21dsd is over and I think this will keep me on track to a healthier me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

