Day 21: Results

It is officially the last day of the 21dsd and it has been a pretty good ride. I had some cravings in the beginning but was able to get through them thanks to planning and will power. This detox was actually much easier the second time around, which is most likely due to the fact that I was familair with the changes that would occur and I was much better at actually cooking food in advance and finding 21dsd recipes I enjoy instead of eating raw vegetables and flavorless meat.

I also was able to navigate eating out and restaurants better by checking the menu in advance and not being afraid to ask about ingredients/recipes. Restaurants are very accommodating these days, which could be linked to the rise in allergies like gluten and dairy or to rise in alternative diets like vegetarian, vegan and paleo. Whatever it is I was happy that wherever I went I was able to find a 21dsd option that I actually enjoyed. Today I went to the Garces Trading company for restaurant week brunch and I shared mozzarella cheese and a charcuterie plate with a friend for an appetizer, got baked eggs for a main course and gave away my dessert. Overall it was a really nice brunch and probably my last meal on the 21dsd so it was almost like a celebration of the end.

I have gained a ton of strength this detox from a combination of eating unprocessed foods and working out 5 days a week. I actually invested in a pair of adjustable dumbbells because the weight set I currently have is too light and I am able to do way too many reps before getting tired during strength training exercises. Not only have I gained strength during the detox, but  I have lost a total of 7.6lbs and my skinny jeans are a bit baggy. I have to wear a belt to keep them up. Unfortunately I forgot to take my body measurements before and after the detox but I can definitely tell that I’ve lost some inches off my waist and thighs because of the way my clothes are fitting. Below is a before and after the detox picture of me(wearing the same pjs). Overall, I think the detox was a success, but I am also super happy that it’s over.

Before(171lbs)

Before detox (171lbs)

After(163.4)

After detox (163.4)

 

Leave a Reply

