Philly Food Swap

Yesterday, I attended the Philly food swap at the library..Essentially, a bunch of people bring homemade items to exchange with others. There is really no limit to what you can bring as long as it is homemade and consumable. I have seen everything from laundry detergent to chocolate chip cookies and people are super creative so there is usually a  wide variety of options.

I have attended the exchange a half a dozen times over the past few years and every time I have brought a sweet item(like fudge, cupcakes, donuts and other baked goods) because that is my favorite thing to experiment with and to eat. However, I figured a lot of people would be trying to stick to those pesky new years resolutions and as I am also trying to be healthier I decided to make natural deodorant(tutorial here) and homemade cheez-its (recipe here). I know this is a super random combination but that is what I decided on and both were a hit!

I got all the items I wanted (except for a celery lavender simple syrup that I will definitely be trying to replicate) and have been trying to stop myself from going full-glutton and gobbling up all my spoils in a day. Below is a picture of all the wonderful stuff I got .

IMAG0377

It’s kind of hard to see everything but I got: irish cream, grapefruit mint sugar scrub, drupe fruit complex( this is a fruit I previously didn’t know existed but it is similar to a peach and is delicious in this alcoholic drink), savory seed granola(which i wasn’t expecting to like until I tried it and fell in love), and cherry almond granola, raspberry shrub, white chocolate craisin oatmeal cookies, tropical conserves(which is going to be amazing on fish), earl grey tea biscuits(which I am definitely going to try to replicate because they are amazing), and a mini soy candle.

This soy candle is one of the cutest things I have ever seen and I love it so much I don’t even want to burn it. Here is a close up of it:
IMAG0379Come on…adorable, right?

Overall, it was a super successful exchange and I plan on replicating some of this stuff and using others in recipes so look out for those in the next few weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

